Friday, April 14, 2006

Interesting note from Baseball HotSheet

Regarding Chris Ray, the O's and their win over Tampa Bay last night:

Chris Ray owners are probably wondering why their closer didn't get a save last night despite coming into the game in the ninth inning with a one-run lead. The answer was reported in the Baltimore Sun, and it comes from a little-known exception to Rule 10.19 (c4), which reads:

Do not credit a victory to a relief pitcher who is ineffective in a brief appearance, when a succeeding relief pitcher pitches effectively in helping his team maintain the lead. In such cases, credit the succeeding relief pitcher with the victory.

In this case, Jim Brower entered the game in the bottom of the eighth inning with a runner on second and the score 4-3 in favor of the Devil Rays. Brower allowed an RBI single to Jonny Gomes, and then Gomes was caught stealing to end the inning. So since Brower quite literally did nothing that could be viewed as positive to his team's cause, the official scorer determined that Ray - who pitched a 1-2-3 ninth after Melvin Mora's three-run homer gave the Orioles a 6-5 lead - should get the win.


Post a Comment

<< Home